Fake E-gold Bankrupt Release
(Digital Money World) There was a fake PR release report of e-Gold on it being bankrupt a few days ago at PRweb. It was gone when I was given the url by Mark to peek.
Never ever trust releases unless they’re from the official source (say the blog or the official e-Gold site itself), though I kinda get the hunch that most of e-Gold users are really worried about its future when we think of the indictment that they’re facing.
Well, since there’re no bad news and with e-Gold switching primary dealer, we can definitely be sure that there’s something going on behind the scene and hopefully for the better. Hope e-Gold’s blog isn’t just a place for them to update on the system maintenance though.
Dr. Jackson became really quiet after his first few virgin blog entries on the blog. Wish we could gain more of his insights of the situation and future that e-Gold is facing now very much though.
Related Stories
POSTED IN: e-gold

10 opinions for Fake E-gold Bankrupt Release
Andy
Jul 8, 2008 at 6:06 am
The PR was a fake. I have already been in touch with e-gold and they deny it completely. It seems that there was a concerted DDS attack and the attackers combined it with the spread of false info.
e-gold reserves are intact and the system is looking towards a major revival thanks to the collaboration of their new primary dealer.
Andy
Jul 8, 2008 at 6:08 am
However, I agree that a more communicative policy from e-gold would be very helpful. A couple of weekly blog entries is not too much to ask for a co. that earns 1000s of $ in comissions every day..
Benson
Jul 8, 2008 at 6:39 am
Great news Andy!
You’ve contacted them and they say they’re fighting back with CashCards?
Really good stuff.
Ast
Jul 8, 2008 at 11:40 am
I don’t believe you and i don’t believe that release. We should see E-gold comments to believe in situation. Maybe it’s really bankrupt
Teresia
Jul 8, 2008 at 11:37 pm
I believe this is untrue. But some people with their egold will rush to exchangers who still accept egold.
Some exchangers like anygoldnow and e-forexgold no longer accept egold. Also autocambist and superchange, two populer automatic exchangers also do not accept egold.
Weird isn’t it?
Benson
Jul 9, 2008 at 12:17 am
See, speculations doesn’t make people feel good doesn’t it? I’m pretty sure e-Gold is still doing fine.
Exchangers who doesn’t want to risk will stop taking in e-Gold, that’s understandable. It’s just a matter of exposing yourself to market risk or take the risk and do business.
That’s how exchangers operate anyway! ;)
Andy
Jul 9, 2008 at 3:29 am
It seems quite clear who benefits from this scare… if rates for e-gold exchange are soon going to go down to normal 5/6% levels (from current 15-20%), a few exchangers could be very interested in buying a lot of e-gold in the very short term at current prices.
Fraudulent e-gold “Press Release” : DGC Blog
Jul 9, 2008 at 4:48 pm
[…] HTML clipboardIf you are like me and have email box full of Google Alerts, you may have also received about a dozen alerts for the phrase ‘e-gold’ in the past few days. The one which caught my eye said the company was bankrupt! I’ll admit reading the first fake release, shocked me, but that only lasted about 10 seconds. It was obvious the report was a fake. Moments after that I caught another alert from DigitalMoneyWorld, and Benson was confirming the fake press release. […]
Niklas
Jul 12, 2008 at 8:31 am
Directly form the E*Gold website:
http://blog.e-gold.com/2008/07/fraudulent-pres.html
Fraudulent “Press Release” and accompanying DDoS attacks
Beginning July 7, 2008 a fraudulent press release was sent to multiple online publication services claiming that e-gold Ltd. and Gold & Silver Reserve, Inc. had filed for bankruptcy. The announcement was a fraud and did not come from either company or anyone associated with either company. Concurrent with the fraudulent press release there have also been intermittent denial-of-service attacks against the e-gold.com website, probably originating from the same perpetrator. An investigation is underway seeking to discover the source of both this malicious misinformation and the denial of service attacks.
Good to hear that E*Gold acceptance can go on.
moneypenny
Jul 13, 2008 at 1:51 am
strange that it took them almost a week to post something on their site at e gold so that their many customers were informed. one wonders why it ttok so long to respond if they saw this as sabotage?
I suspect this is not the last we’ve heard of this.
Have an opinion? Leave a comment: